Sam Elliott and Road House

“The dancing’s over. Now it gets dirty.”

Road House is a fucking awesome film in which Patrick Swayze rips some guy’s throat out. Check out this poster. Yes. That’s how brilliant it is.

Road House poster

“Dalton lives like a loner. Fights like a professional. And loves like there’s no tomorrow.”

Only in the 80s, man.

I was trying to put my finger on why I was so glad to see Sam Elliott in The Golden Compass. I knew I’d seen him elsewhere in a role that was cool beyond crunk (almost). Ultimately, it didn’t take long to find out it was Road House – and it only took a few moments longer to find some classic quotes from, what one user of IMDB hailed as, “perhaps the best camp classic ever!”.

Sam Elliott

Sam Elliott as Wade Garrett rules in this movie, exuding the type of laid-back, southern charm that Josh Holloway can only dream of – while also kicking people hard in the knees. He may be old, but he’s still the best. A couple of his best quotes below.

Wade Garrett: That gal’s got entirely too many brains to have an ass like that.

Wade Garrett: I’ll get all the sleep I need when I’m dead.

Leave a Reply

