All 20 Pop Up Videos from VH1

To a certain person of a certain age and a certain disposition, this post will be the greatest thing ever. Unfortunately, that certain person is me dear reader, so you may as well just bugger off and look at pictures of bacon draped across some bird’s tits and let me carry on…

If you didn’t know, Pop Up Video is/was a TV show on VH1 and is responsible for entertaining me more than wanking did during my uni days. Overlaying some bizarre choices of music videos with nuggets of sometimes informative, often pointless, usually witty, but always welcome facts that ‘pop up’ throughout, this is the perfect recipe for a young mind thirsting for a wank, but who can’t reasonably commit to one at two in the afternoon.

I loved this show, and so did everyone else I forced to watch them. Waste a hell of a lot of time now and watch these…

Belinda Carlisle – Heaven is a Place on Earth

Band Aid – Do they know it’s Christmas?

Men at Work – Down Under

Rick Astley – Never Gonna Give You Up

No Doubt – Ex-Girlfriend

If you’re still following me… click on the link below to read more…

Sinatra & Bono (WTF!?) – I’ve got you Under my Skin

Joe Jackson – Stepping Out

Aretha Franklin – A Rose is still a Rose

Mariah Carey – Fantasy

Bon Jovi – Wanted Dead or Alive

OMC – How Bizarre

Mariah Carey – All I want for Christmas is you

Elton John – Candle in the Wind

Simple Minds – Don’t You

Mariah Carey – Honey

Elton John – Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting

Phil Collins – Take me Home

Mariah Carey – My All

ACDC – Shook me all Night Long

Trio – Da Da Da

3 thoughts on “All 20 Pop Up Videos from VH1

  1. Some excellent vids – suggest that you’ve slipped a little too much of Mariah in, but good god – how much i want to bone her in both the ‘Fantasy’ video… The same could not be said for Men at Work – though I rate their musical output infinitely superior..

  2. hi,
    it looks like you took down all these links b/c of copyright claims–too bad because this was the only place i was able to find the pop up video for “do they know it’s christmas”–any idea where i can find it now? it’s not on vh1’s pop-up video site.

    thanks,
    joann

    1. Hi Joann,

      I didn’t upload these videos, I just found them on YouTube. I didn’t even know that they’d stopped working until I read your comment.

      I remember being surprised by the rarity of these videos when I first set out to write this post. I still don’t understand why VH1 don’t make them more easily available.

      If you have any luck finding working versions, leave a comment and let me know. It looks like I need to update this old article…

      Cheers.

Leave a Reply

