Fucking Microsoft

Brands invest big bucks to understand the customer journey. Presumably so they know where best to mug them. I thought I’d save Microsoft a few pennies by explaining the journey I experienced when attempting to contact their Xbox Live billing support team.

Bear in mind I was only trying to contact them because they contacted me first. They dropped an email in my inbox, all I wanted to do was send them one back.

This is how it went.

Step 1 – Received an email from Microsoft’s billing team. I can’t simply reply to the email (why the devil not?), so I click the link included in the email.

Step 2 – (Not pictured because the experience was too traumatic) Before I could go further I had to log in to Windows Live. This involved discovering my password had been changed, changing my password back, immediately unleashing a barrage of spam on all my contacts, changing the password again, before finally getting through and remembering the reason why I abandoned Hotmail for Gmail long, long ago.

Step 3 – Enter billing account overview, discover I can’t really do anything here, find a helpful link to contact support over on the left.

Step 4 – Get taken to here:

After a few moments screaming at the screen in frustration, I am able to find the link for the Xbox Live customers. Although I note it only offers to take me to another billing and accounts page and not some way to contact customer services. I click the link and hope.

Step 5 – Fucking Microsoft.

Why the FUCK are you asking ME what happened to this FUCKING page!? Oops!? FUCKING OOPS!? Oh, so you moved some things around, did you? THEN WHERE THE FUCK DID YOU MOVE THE PAGE I’M LOOKING FOR AND WHY DID YOU NOT UPDATE THE FUCKING SUPPORT PAGE? I THINK IT’S PRETTY FUCKING IMPORTANT, DON’T YOU?

*Sigh*

It’s just depressing. Unfortunately, my journey doesn’t end there because I still need to figure out how to contact them. Sure, it may be much easier if I started on the actual Xbox website, but the fact is I followed their instructions every step of the way and got dumped on a 404 error. That is appalling.

3 thoughts on “Fucking Microsoft

  1. Maybe next time you’ll leave the consoles for the kids and get a real gaming machine.

    Microsoft may have created the operating system and a few of the architectures used for games, but that’s where their involvement with my gaming ends. I don’t buy Microsoft garbage, and I don’t buy games that include Microsoft garbage.

    It surprises me to no end that people continue to buy Xbox’s, the same company that brought us Windows ME and Windows Vista is now being entrusted with the entire gaming experience via software and hardware?

    If you buy an Xbox (or any kiddy console), you get what you deserve.

Leave a Reply

